The following vaccines that children routinely receive between birth and 6 years old protect against 14 diseases:

  1. Hepatitis A (HepA) vaccine
  2. Hepatitis B (HepB) vaccine
  3. Hib (Haemophilus influenzae type b) vaccine
  4. Influenza (flu) vaccine
  5. PCV13 (pneumococcal disease) vaccine
  6. Polio vaccine
  7. Rotavirus (RV) vaccine
  8. Varicella (chickenpox) vaccine
  9. DTaP (Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Pertussis) vaccine
  10. MMR (Measles, Mumps, and Rubella) vaccine

These vaccines are given by injection (shot), except for rotavirus, which is a liquid that is swallowed.

Vaccines aren’t just for infants—adolescents and adults need vaccines to stay healthy and help strengthen community immunity. Please see the recommended vaccination schedules for children, adolescents and adults in our Resources section.

CDC Parent’s Guide to Childhood Immunizations
CDC: Vaccines for Your Children
CDC: Vaccine-Preventable Diseases and the Vaccines that Prevent Them